This kid leaves his books & holds broom to help his mom

He is eight! A very innocent kid! Never makes an eye contact! But is very diligent in his work. So engaged is he in his job, that he never looks left or right while performing his duty.

He, along with his mother, two sisters and father, has shifted to Jaipur from Bengal in search of work. While his father is still looking for job, his mother has started doing household work in many houses. Sisters are being looked upon by father at his place.

Since last two days, this kid was coming with his mother to my place for work.  He simply walked with her while she was cleaning the house and doing other work. I didn’t bother because my work was being done perfectly.

The third day, he was alone, without his mother. The only thing he uttered me was maaa aa rahi hai. I was in kitchen so I just nodded my head. By the time I went out from the kitchen, he had already cleaned two of the rooms.

The rooms were immaculately clean.

But then, I stopped him and asked why is he doing this work.

“Maa ki madaad kar raha hoon, woh pados mein bartan dho rahi hai.”

(I am helping my mother who is washing utensils in the neighbour’s house)

Oh my God! My heart was melted…so much that I wanted to hug this kid. His eyes were telling the tale of his innocence and helplessness. I was speechless.

By then, his mother came.

My emotions came out in the form of anger and I asked her the reason for bringing this kid along with her. I also asked her why is he not sent to school.

“We have just come from Bengal and there is no work for us. His father is looking for some kind of work. Once he gets it, I will start sending him to school. Till then, he has offered to help me,“ she informed.

As I am busy from morning to afternoon, who will go for his admission? she further added.

“Please send him to school. I don’t want him to accompany you in any house,” I had to be clear to her in a little tough voice as I was feeling low within.

Yesterday, this boy didn’t come with her. She informed me that his father has taken him to school. I was glad, excited and anxious if all goes well!

Today, I am still sitting and waiting…for the result, if this kid has got enrolled in school.

Leave a Reply

